Millions of Californians will be seeing a change in their paychecks this month. Officially effective on January 1, 2023: the minimum wage for hourly employees in California is now $15.50.
Although the change applies to the entire state of California, some larger businesses in about 30 cities are already paying a higher local minimum wage. Local cities with a higher minimum wage than the state include the City of Los Angeles at $16.04, Pasadena at $16.11, Malibu at $15.96, and West Hollywood at $17.50. You can find a full list of California cities and their hourly pay here.
This increase is part of California law that has raised the wage from $10 per hour in 2017 to $15.50 in 2023.
“After the state minimum wage reaches $15 an hour for all employees, the rate will be adjusted annually for inflation based on the national consumer price index for urban wage earners and clerical worker,” stated the State of California DIR.
If an employer does not pay at least the minimum wage, workers can either file a wage claim with the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (the Labor Commissioner’s Office), or file a lawsuit in court against the employer to recover the lost wages.
Learn more about your minimum wage rights and more at the State of California DIR FAQ’s here.
See more: L.A. County Department Of Health Issues Ocean Water Use Advisory