×

TYPE IN YOUR SEARCH AND PRESS ENTER

Loading...
Top News

Santa Monica Pier Will Be Closed On Weekends As Record-Breaking Numbers Continue In L.A.

By Ashlyn Davis

Santa Monica Pier Will Be Closed On Weekends As Record-Breaking Numbers Continue In L.A.

The Santa Monica Pier will be closed from Thursday through Monday, and for all remaining weekends in January.

In an effort to curb the raging spread of COVID-19 in the city, the Santa Monica Pier will be closed to the public from Thursday this weekend and for the remaining weekends in January.

“Out of an abundance of caution and to contribute to regional efforts to slow the spread of COVID-19 in Los Angeles County, the Santa Monica Pier will temporarily close,” the announcement reads. “The best way to slow the spread of COVID-19 is to stay home as much as possible and the closure is part of meeting this need,” it continues.

While the planned closure was initially scheduled to begin on Saturday through the Martin Luther King holiday on Monday, the warm weather anticipated this weekend has brought it forward.

As case numbers soar across L.A., officials fear the popular attraction may draw large crowds of Angelenos wanting to celebrate in the holiday weekend in the sun.

The Santa Monica Pier will temporarily be closed on the following days, according to their announcement:

  • Sunday, January 10, 2021
  • Thursday, January 14, 2021
  • Friday, January 15, 2021
  • Saturday, January 16, 2021
  • Sunday, January 17, 2021
  • Monday, January 18, 2021
  • Saturday, January 23, 2021
  • Sunday, January 24, 2021
  • Saturday, January 30, 2021
  • Sunday, January 31, 2021

Santa Monica currently has 3,335 cases and 90 deaths, according to the city’s tracker.

Featured Image: Cameron Venti via Unsplash